Eggplants-Vietnamese style

DSCF0352

Do you eat eggplants often? What is your favorite way to prepare eggplants? Me? I love eggplants, and I usually prepare it like my mom used to make for us. It’s absolutely my favorite way to eat eggplants because it’s quite simple to prepare but they are so flavorful and succulent. My mom usually uses fish sauce instead of soy sauce in this recipe, so feel free to switch whatever you prefer.
Here is my recipe:

Ingredients:

*3 medium or 2 big Chinese eggplants ( or 4 Japanese eggplants)
*4 TBS oil
*1 tsp oil
*2 gloves of garlic, minced
*1/2 tsp Vietnamese chili sauce ( or 1 minced Thai chili pepper)
*1 Tbs sugar
*2 TBS soy sauce ( or to taste)
*2 TBS water
*2 green onion, chopped

Heat 1 TBS of oil on a non-stick pan on medium heat. Slice the eggplants into 1/2 inch slices, and arrange in one layer on the pan. Fry until golden brown on one side then turn to cook the other side. Add 1 TBS of oil to the pan. Once brown, transfer to a dish. Finish with the remaining eggplants. Transfer all the fried eggplants to the dish.

To make the sauce: Add 1 tsp of oil to the pan and fry the garlic until fragrant, add chili sauce, sugar, soy sauce, water and cook until sugar is fully dissolved. Transfer the eggplants back to the pan and mix eggplants are covered with sauce. Add green onion and turned off the heat.

I usually serve it with steam rice. This dish can be a main dish or a side dish. Enjoy!

Hope you try this recipe, and let me know how you like it.
Happy cooking!

Quyen

